Watermark Books & Café Invites You to Lisa See

Watermark Books & Café is happy to invite back national bestselling author Lisa See to Wichita on Tuesday, June 18th at 6 pm at the Advanced Learning Library.  Lisa will be here to celebrate the paperback release of her latest book Lady Tan's Circle of Women. This event will be in collaboration again with the Wichita Public Library to help celebrate books, literature, and community. Lady Tan's Circle of Women is a national bestseller and notable Watermark Bestseller which follows Tan Yunxian, a young woman living in 15th-century China, who has to deal with the clash of societal expectations that are placed on her and what she truly wants for her life. The book wonderfully tackles sexism and gender roles in a fantastic way. Let your friends and family know about this event! If you are interested in the event, we ask that you RSVP below.

 

A green and white signDescription automatically generated

About the Book:

 *NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!*

From “one of those special writers capable of delivering both poetry and plot” (The New York Times Book Review) an immersive historical novel inspired by the true story of a woman physician in 15th-century China—perfect for fans of Lisa See’s classics Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane.

According to Confucius, “an educated woman is a worthless woman,” but Tan Yunxian—born into an elite family, yet haunted by death, separations, and loneliness—is being raised by her grandparents to be of use. Her grandmother is one of only a handful of female doctors in China, and she teaches Yunxian the pillars of Chinese medicine, the Four Examinations—looking, listening, touching, and asking—something a man can never do with a female patient.

From a young age, Yunxian learns about women’s illnesses, many of which relate to childbearing, alongside a young midwife-in-training, Meiling. The two girls find fast friendship and a mutual purpose—despite the prohibition that a doctor should never touch blood while a midwife comes in frequent contact with it—and they vow to be forever friends, sharing in each other’s joys and struggles. No mud, no lotus, they tell themselves: from adversity, beauty can bloom.

But when Yunxian is sent into an arranged marriage, her mother-in-law forbids her from seeing Meiling and from helping the women and girls in the household. Yunxian is to act like a proper wife—embroider bound-foot slippers, recite poetry, give birth to sons, and stay forever within the walls of the family compound, the Garden of Fragrant Delights.

How might a woman like Yunxian break free of these traditions and lead a life of such importance that many of her remedies are still used five centuries later? How might the power of friendship support or complicate these efforts? A captivating story of women helping each other, Lady Tan’s Circle of Women is a triumphant reimagining of the life of one person who was remarkable in the Ming dynasty and would be considered remarkable today.

About the Author:

Lisa See is the New York Times bestselling author of The Island of Sea WomenThe Tea Girl of Hummingbird LaneSnow Flower and the Secret FanPeony in LoveShanghai GirlsChina Dolls, and Dreams of Joy, which debuted at #1. She is also the author of On Gold Mountain, which tells the story of her Chinese American family’s settlement in Los Angeles. See was the recipient of the Golden Spike Award from the Chinese Historical Association of Southern California and the Historymaker’s Award from the Chinese American Museum. She was also named National Woman of the Year by the Organization of Chinese American Women.

Tuesday, June 18, 2024 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
711 West 2nd St N
Wichita, KS 67203
Books: 
Pre-Order Now Badge
Lady Tan's Circle of Women: A Novel By Lisa See Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781982117092
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scribner - June 11th, 2024