Bree Barton and Sarah Henning

Watermark Books & Cafe will host Bree Barton and Sarah Henning for an author talk and signing on August 16 at 6:00 p.m. 

FOR HEART OF THORNS: Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.

In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch.

But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart…even if it kills her.


FOR SEA WITCH: Wicked meets The Little Mermaid in the captivating origin story of the sea's most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.

Ever since her best friend Anna died, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. Hiding her talents, mourning her loss, drowning in her guilt.

Then a girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears on the shore, and the two girls catch the eyes of two charming princes. Suddenly Evie feels like she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after.

But magic isn’t kind, and her new friend harbors secrets of her own. She can’t stay in Havnestad—or on two legs—without Evie’s help. And when Evie reaches deep into the power of her magic to save her friend’s humanity—and her prince’s heart—she discovers, too late, what she’s bargained away.

Event date: 
Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
4701 E Douglas Ave
Wichita, KS 67218
Staff Pick Logo
Heart of Thorns Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062447685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - July 31st, 2018

Staff Pick Logo
Sea Witch Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062438775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - July 31st, 2018

Event Category: