Death in the Details: A Novel (Hardcover)

Death in the Details: A Novel By Katie Tietjen Cover Image

Death in the Details: A Novel (Hardcover)

$29.99


Available to order! Usually Ships to Store in 3-5 Days.
Inspired by the real-life mother of forensic science, Frances Glessner Lee, and featuring a whip-smart, intrepid sleuth in post-WWII Vermont, this debut historical mystery will appeal to fans of Victoria Thompson and Rhys Bowen.

Maple Bishop is ready to put WWII and the grief of losing her husband, Bill, behind her. But when she discovers that Bill left her penniless, Maple realizes she could lose her Vermont home next and sets out to make money the only way she knows how: by selling her intricately crafted dollhouses. Business is off to a good start—until Maple discovers her first customer dead, his body hanging precariously in his own barn.

Something about the supposed suicide rubs Maple the wrong way, but local authorities brush off her concerns. Determined to help them see “what’s big in what’s small,” Maple turns to what she knows best, painstakingly recreating the gruesome scene in miniature: death in a nutshell.

With the help of a rookie officer named Kenny, Maple uses her macabre miniature to dig into the dark undercurrents of her sleepy town, where everyone seems to have a secret—and a grudge. But when her nosy neighbor goes missing and she herself becomes a suspect, it’ll be up to Maple to find the devil in the details—and put him behind bars.

Drawing inspiration from true crime and offering readers a smartly plotted puzzle of a mystery, Death in the Details is a stunning series debut.
Katie Tietjen is an award-winning writer, teacher, and school librarian. A Frances Glessner Lee enthusiast, she’s traveled thousands of miles to visit her homes, see her nutshells, and even attend her birthday party. Katie lives in New England with her husband and two sons. This is her first novel.
Product Details ISBN: 9781639107186
ISBN-10: 1639107185
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: April 9th, 2024
Pages: 288
Language: English
Praise for Death in the Details:
“Aesthetically and morally complex . . . A compelling account of how the toll of war extends far beyond the battlefield.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This fascinating, solid debut will appeal to historical mystery readers who enjoy novels based on actual people . . . For fans of Michael Oren’s Swann’s War.”
Library Journal, starred review

“[A] smart debut.”
Booklist

“This one hits all the right notes.”
Red Carpet Crash

Death in the Details by Katie Tietjen is part true crime, part historical fiction, and, in a nutshell, a propulsive page-turner filled with twists and turns. In Tieiten's debut, she created Maple, a woman who can't be trifled with based on the innovative woman who changed the face of forensics science. Set time aside for this one. You won’t be able to figure it out and you don’t want to be interrupted.”
—Ann Garvin, USA Today bestselling author of There's No Coming Back From This

“Katie Tietjen has given us a prickly, headstrong and brilliant new heroine to cheer for in Death In The Details!  I couldn’t put it down!”
—Iona Whishaw, Globe and Mail bestselling author of the Lane Winslow Mysteries

“The indomitable Maple Bishop is my new obsession. A witty, uplifting, treasure of a book. Terrific!”
—T.A. Willberg, author of The Confidence Games

“You'll admire sleuth Maple Bishop for her intelligence and remarkable eye for detail. You'll love her for her determination and refusal to take no for an answer! A delightful start to an exciting new historical series!” 
—Alyssa Maxwell, author of The Gilded Newport Mysteries and A Lady & Lady's Maid Mysteries

Death in the Details is an intriguing historical cozy with a determined sleuth and a fun small-town setting. From Maple Bishop’s fascinating occupation to her tenacious investigative skills, readers will enjoy all the details in this delightful mystery!”  
—Mary Winters, author of the Lady of Letters Mysteries

“Absolutely wonderful! A compelling and interesting sleuth with a fascinating process inspired by a historical person. It doesn’t get any better than this.”
—Colleen Cambridge, author of Mastering the Art of French Murder