Penelope March Is Melting (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Penelope March Is Melting Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 11:45pm
(Middle Readers)

Staff Reviews


Former Wichitans, Lois and Jeffrey Ruby—mother and son—show us that writing is in their blood. Each has a new book targeted to middle grade readers.

In Lois’s book, The Secret Grave, Hannah seeks solace from her large family. Behind their ramshackle and rickety historic home she finds refuge in a forest. There she meets the malevolent Cady, with whom she strikes up an instant friendship. Loneliness can be blinding. Cady, possessive and weird, eventually insists on testing Hannah’s loyalty. When mysterious things start happening around Hannah’s house and she discovers a 100-year-old grave, Hannah awakens to the fact that something very scary is going on. Lois Ruby delivers a solid, suspenseful, creepy story of friendship and family.

In Jeffrey's debut novel, called Penelope March is Melting, family and friendship also play a significant role. When Penelope's mother disappeared, she left Penelope with her father and younger brother to eke out a living in their tiny town of Glacier Cove. But Glacier Cove has a big problem: the glacier beneath it is melting. Sometimes answers to problems come from unlikely places, and the town eccentric seems to know what to do. Penelope and her brother, Miles, are suddenly on a fantastical adventure beyond anything she could have imagined. Full of humor and heart, Jeffrey Ruby is on solid ground in his nascent career as a writer. 

There must be something in the water in Wichita (though not fluoride) as the burgeoning talent of middle grade book authors is rooting up in impressive numbers! 

Melissa's review first appeared on 89.1 KMUW. You can listen to the review HERE

— Melissa Fox

Description


"A marvelous and magical debut " --Pseudonymous Bosch, New York Times bestselling author of the Secret Series and the Bad Books

An icy-cold mystery adventure to warm your heart--perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library

Something sinister has come to Glacier Cove, an icy-cold town that sits on top of an iceberg . Nothing bad ever happens here. Until now. And it's up to Penelope March to stop it.

Mmm-hmm, that Penelope--the bookworm who lives in the ramshackle house with her brother, Miles. The girl with the mom who--poof --disappeared. The one everyone ignores . . . except strange Coral Wanamaker, a tiny thing with raven-black hair and a black coat.

When Penelope meets someone who seems to know secrets not only about Glacier Cove but about Penelope herself, she and Miles are pulled into an ancient mystery. Together, they'll face the coldest, cruelest enemy ever known. Looks like the girl who only reads about adventures is going to start living one.

Magic cookies Volcanoes Penguins Sea monsters And a girl hero with the strength and imagination to spring into action.

About the Author


Jeffrey Michael Ruby is the chief dining critic of Chicago magazine. He is the coauthor of Everybody Loves Pizza: The Deep Dish on America's Favorite Food, and has also played college basketball in Ireland, assisted in an autopsy, and sumo wrestled in front of 20,000 people in New Jersey. He lives in Chicago with his wife and three children. Penelope March Is Melting is his first novel. Visit Jeffrey at jeffrubymedia.com, and @dropkickjeffy on Twitter and Instagram.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781524718282
ISBN-10: 1524718289
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: November 14th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English