Brown Enough: A Tale of a Mixed-Race Baseball Team, Summer of '56 (Paperback)

Brown Enough: A Tale of a Mixed-Race Baseball Team, Summer of '56 Cover Image
By Ken Ohm
On Our Shelves Now
11 on hand, as of Oct 28 1:40am
(Kansas Literature)


Part historical fiction, part memoir, this novel takes place over a 10-week period in the summer of 1956 in a small town in the mid-west. It is based on a true story of the social and athletic achievements of an eleven-man mixed-race baseball team, seven African-American, three Hispanics, and one Caucasian. Under the leadership of an aging charismatic African-American manager, the Brown Bombers tolerate the nearness of racism as part of the price they pay for the privilege of playing the game they love. Some abuses are blatantly present while others are more subtle. However, the game itself offers a focus and comfort quiet apart from the daily lives of this diverse group of young men as they strive to perfect their baseball skills. A daily perspective of the team is delivered by a single white boy, determined by the manager to be “brown enough.” With a “magic” bat, a lucky arrowhead and an expanding fan base, the Bombers ultimately achieve a success beyond expectations.

About the Author

Dr. Ken Ohm earned his bachelor's and master's degrees from Emporia State University in Kansas, and his doctorate from the University of Wyoming. He recently retired after 50 years as a college professor while receiving many outstanding teaching awards and authoring numerous publications in astronomy and physics. Ken's autobiographies are "Spatzies and Brass BBs: Life in a One-Room Country School," "Ducks across the Moon: Life on Eighty Acres in the Flint Hills," and his most recent, "Spirit of the Flint Hills," released in September, 2014. The first two books have been included in the "150 Best Books of Kansas." He also co-authored a mystery novel: "Hidden Gold: Lost Treasure in the Flint Hills." Readers will recognize many beauties, many curious fancies, and many strange pictures as come from his unlimited horizon. With his last of three volumes, Dr. Ohm once again sheds light into the mystery and reality of life in rural Midwestern America in the 1930s and '40s--highlighting special moments with a delightful trip down memory lane. The reader will step back to share anecdotes, illustrations, and photographs that deliver the simple beauty and vivid descriptions of daily farm life. Take these journeys with the author and find a certain peace and reflection in the bare existence of a time that has disappeared forever. Dr. Ohm is a life member of Kappa Mu Epsilon, the honorary mathematics society, Sigma Xi, the Kansas Authors Club, and the Planetary Society. After winning two recent national senior championships in the javelin throw, he attributed his success to throwing flintstones at fence posts during his early childhood days in the Flint Hills.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780692067178
Publisher: Flint Hills Stories
Publication Date: October 1st, 2018