Cancelled (Hardcover)

Cancelled By Farrah Penn Cover Image

Cancelled (Hardcover)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of May 17 3:06am
(Teen Novels)
With its clever snark and searing perspective, Cancelled is a funny, fearless novel about the realistic pitfalls and unforgettable moments high school has to offer, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Emma Lord.

Not to brag, but Brynn Whittaker is basically killing her senior year. She's got the looks, the grades, and a thriving "flirt coach" business that will help pay for her ultimate dream school: Stanford University. 

But when a highly incriminating video goes viral after the first rager of the year, Brynn finds herself at the center of a school-wide scandal of catastrophic proportions. She knows she's not the girl in the video hooking up with her former best friend's boyfriend (While wearing a banana costume, no less. Hey, points for style), but adding that to her reputation of being a serial dater, she quickly starts losing friends and customers. On top of that, the scorn she receives exposes the culture of misogyny that is rampant at her school . . . and Brynn and her three best friends are determined to take down all the haters. 

But as she gets closer to identifying the person in the video that got her cancelled, Brynn must decide—is exposing the girl worth losing everything she's worked so hard for?

This witty, unapologetic novel by Farrah Penn boldly tackles the problematic double standards that seek to bring girls down, and shines a light on the loving, uplifting friendships that can help them make it through those brutal four years.
Farrah Penn is an author and writer living in Los Angeles whose work has appeared on Buzzfeed, Bustle, and more. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram @FarrahPenn.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593528303
ISBN-10: 0593528301
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 19th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English
★ "Penn depicts high-school drama with precision and flair, and the plot ripples with spark and snark." —Booklist, starred review

"Penn balances a thoughtful treatment of public shaming and accountability with comedy, indomitable characters, and a swoony rom-com subplot." —Publishers Weekly

"Girl power tackles sexism, stigma, and peer pressure in the age of social media." —Kirkus Reviews

"Cancelled is an entertaining romp full of a wide cast of characters who will steal your heart. Farrah Penn combines humor and heart like no one else.”
—Laura Sebastian, New York Times bestselling author of the Ash Princess series.

"Easy A meets Emma with a bite and so, so much heart. Cancelled is a treasure trove of powerful friendships, kick-my-feet-blushing romance, and oh-so-satisfying schemes that will have you on the edge of your seat. This heartfelt, deeply honest, and downright hilarious book is a poignant reminder that the best moments of our lives can come out of the worst, and that even in our loneliest times we are never alone."
—Emma Lord, New York Times bestselling author of Tweet Cute and You Have a Match

"I'm head-over-heels obsessed. With nods to Easy A and Saved!, Cancelled reads like all your favorite teen movies: razor-sharp banter, an adorable love interest, and an understanding of human nature that leaves you optimistic about the future. Farrah Penn has a phenomenal, relatable, effortlessly witty voice."
—Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

“Farrah Penn’s Cancelled is a beautifully written exploration of what it’s like to try and find out who you are in your teens, facing judgment from your peers along the way, and the fear and joy that can accompany doing so. This will be a book that I will reach for time and time again, if only to experience the visual storytelling that had me captivated from start to finish."
—Lara Parker, author of Vagina Problems