The Red Address Book (Paperback)

The Red Address Book Cover Image
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Nov 20 1:15am
(Fiction)

Description


“Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy.”—Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove

For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96-year-old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades-old address book. But the most profound moment of her life is still to come . . .

Meet Doris, a 96-year-old woman living alone in her Stockholm apartment. She has few visitors, but her weekly Skype calls with Jenny—her American grandniece, and her only relative—give her great joy and remind her of her own youth.

When Doris was a girl, she was given an address book by her father, and ever since she has carefully documented everyone she met and loved throughout the years. Looking through the little book now, Doris sees the many crossed-out names of people long gone and is struck by the urge to put pen to paper. In writing down the stories of her colorful past—working as a maid in Sweden, modelling in Paris during the 30s, fleeing to Manhattan at the dawn of the Second World War—can she help Jenny, haunted by a difficult childhood, unlock the secrets of their family and finally look to the future? And whatever became of Allan, the love of Doris’s life?

A charming novel that prompts reflection on the stories we all should carry to the next generation, and the surprises in life that can await even the oldest among us, The Red Address Book introduces Sofia Lundberg as a wise—and irresistible—storyteller.

About the Author


SOFIA LUNDBERG is a journalist and former magazine editor. Her debut novel, The Red Address Book, was published in 32 territories worldwide. She lives in Stockholm with her son.

Praise For…


A Publishers Lunch Buzz Book
A Library Reads Selection
An iBooks Most Anticipated Titles of 2019
A West Virginia Gazette “Books to Check out in the New Year” Pick

 
“A sweet-tart Swedish romance steeped in memory and regret…The Red Address Book is just the sort of easy-reading tale that will inspire readers to pull up a comfy chair to the fire, grab a mug of cocoa and a box of tissues and get hygge with it.” Helen Simonson, New York Times Book Review
 
“Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy.”—Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove

“Wise and captivating, Lundberg’s novel offers clear-eyed insights into old age and the solace of memory.” People
 
"In a reader's lifetime, there are a few books that will be companions forever. For me, The Red Address Book is one of them. It will comfort you, and remind you of all the moments when you grabbed life with both hands. It is also an homage to the wisdom of women who have lived longer than most of us. One is never too old to learn that love is the only meaning of life—let’s listen to these women.”—Nina George, author of The Little Paris Bookshop
 
“Charming.”Toronto Star
 
“In this tender and heartfelt story, Sofia Lundberg offers a reminder that those we too easily dismiss, such as the elderly, have rich histories and lives that we can learn from. Completely engrossing from start to finish, The Red Address Book is a poignant tale of memory and how those things we carry in our heart work together to create our own life stories.” New York Journal of Books
 
"The Red Address Book is a love letter to the human heart.  Full of tenderness and empathy, Lundberg has created more than just a novel—she has created a window into the soul."—Alyson Richman, internationally bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Velvet Hours

“Like a cozy conversation with your grandma, The Red Address Book warms your heart and soul.” BookPage
 
“A warm and tender story about life, memories, and the power of love and friendship. A novel with heart and humor!”—Katarina Bivald, The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend

“Doris’s life story is magnetic, and it’s her strong personality and pearls of wisdom … that drive the book…Fans of Fredrik Backman will find much to like here.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Sofia Lundberg has written a wonderful debut. The story of the life of Doris is told with a whole lot of love. It is full of warmth and compassion.”—Jan-Philipp Sendker, author of The Art of Hearing Heartbeats
 
“A lifetime of memories [is]…Beautifully brought to life in this sweetly elegiac novel.”—Bridget Thoreson, Booklist
 
“You’ll be hearing a lot about Sofia in the new year if you’re in the UK, but if you’re in Sweden, France, Spain, Germany, etc, etc, you’ll already know how romantic and fabulous her novel, The Red Address Book is.”—Lucy Dillon, author of Lost Dogs and Lonely Hearts
 “Readers who enjoyed Eleanor Brown's The Light of Paris or Nina George's The Little French Bistro will delight in seeing Doris's life unfold in this charming, tender tale.”—Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358108542
ISBN-10: 0358108543
Publisher: Mariner Books
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019
Pages: 304